www.PortASurfCo.com
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
www.PortASurfCo.com

online Texas surfing community

HomeHome  SearchSearch  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Bodyboarding Texas

Go down 
+4
Coastal Ben
brightblue
KP
big island
8 posters
AuthorMessage
big island

Number of posts : 8
Registration date : 2008-10-05

Bodyboarding Texas Empty
PostSubject: Bodyboarding Texas   Bodyboarding Texas EmptySun Oct 05, 2008 7:10 am

I'm new to Texas surfing but grew up on the big island of Hawaii in Kona. Since I left Hawaii in 1986 I have'nt gotten wet very much. I'm very excited about surfing again but have'nt found where to go yet. I live in New Braunfels now and can make it down for some swells. Anyway where do people sponge around here? Any shorebreak, reefs or is everything a sand breaks? Please help i'm dying to get wet this week. Aloha
Back to top Go down
KP

KP

Number of posts : 28
Registration date : 2007-12-12

Bodyboarding Texas Empty
PostSubject: Re: Bodyboarding Texas   Bodyboarding Texas EmptySun Oct 05, 2008 9:13 am

TX is all sand bottom. Coming from New Braunsfel (sorry my spelling sucks) I would say hit the corpus area. That means Bob Hall pier or Packery Channel. Port Aransas is also a spot but a lot of the time the wave lacks....oomph. Not to say I don't enjoy it. it's my home break and my favorite place to surf. The other 2 breaks are a bit more steep and pitchy. Not a whole lot of people around here are on body boards. Not like Hawaii! I spent the summer surfing in Kauai and there were tons of folks on body boards there as well as stand up paddle boards. Nothing to scare the crap out of you like a 12'board coming down the face of a head high wave!

Hope that was a little helpful!
Back to top Go down
big island

Bodyboarding Texas Empty
PostSubject: Re: Bodyboarding Texas   Bodyboarding Texas EmptySun Oct 05, 2008 3:10 pm